Zero hours contract

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by postman_twit, Dec 3, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. My company are looking at putting their Drivers on a zero hours contract. We are currently contracted to work 52.5 hours per week (Mon to Fri) and have to make ourselves available to work an additional day every two weeks for an extra payment. Our work is shift based and fluctuates greatly.

Does anyone have any experience of a Zero hours contract as my initial research doesn't look like we will benefit from any proposed change over (and that's putting it mildly!).

2. I'm not taking that big a pay cut! :)
  3. I have no experience or even zero knowledge if you like of the situation but I would hazard a guess that there are two possible outcomes.
    1) The workforce will be better off financially
    2) The company will save money at the expense of the workforce.

Your guess as to which is more likely.
    • Like Like x 3
  4. About 25 years ago when I worked for a large high street chemist, they put all their warehouse staff on zero hours contracts. Basically it meant they'd pick and choose who they wanted to work and when and pay them only for the hours worked. The best workers got good hours and decent'ish overtime, the slackers got 3 hours one week, 5 hours over 3 days the next, etc.

They claimed it gave them better flexibilty over the workforce, especially in the run up to xmas. A big downside for the 'lightly' employed staff was, they still effectively had a contract of work, therefore couldn't sign on in the times when they weren't called in.