You're not a poster - you're a product!

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by sanchauk, Aug 4, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just reading a book called,"The Filter Bubble - What the Internet is Hiding from You." One of the pre-chapter quotes is,

"If you're not paying for something, you're not the customer; you're the product being sold." Andrew Lewis

Do posters on ARRSE feel like a product? Are we?

2. I am not a product! I am a free man!

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 1
  3. Well AMMM said that was the purpose of posting her universally-reviled blog: attracting more traffic. I have wondered occasionally about Afghan Catflap as well -is it an outrage-generator designed to get everyone tipping up to argue? If so it will fail, as when most people see its rantings they just stop reading that thread.

And attracting traffic to any site inevitably means attracting more mongs, obsessives, trolls, general internet weirdoes and bellends. So in the end you just get yet another internet a space full of mongs and bellends. But if quantity and not quality is what counts then it makes commercial sense.

4. what? you mean like on big brother?

5. only to the most discerning customer...

6. Unless i misunderstood the quote it means we're being sold by the site owners to the advertisers who use the site? In terms of money exchange that makes sense, but are we not paying the site owners with our time/hits in exchange for their site services so they are getting paid through our use of the site so it just means we are not directly paying for the service?