Your FMT600 isnt worth the paper its written on!

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by VerminWA, Feb 21, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apparently my FMT600 isn't worth the paper it's written on, why? Because when it was renewed the fully qualified DDI signed off the vehicle types as "carried over from last FMT600" instead of copying out the name of the person who signed it off and the date.

So now I can't even drive a Land Rover even though I've been driving them for 20 years, in fact when I started driving in the Army there was no such thing as vehicle familirisation so how can I give the name and date of the none existent familirisation!

I am certainly not the only person in my unit that is affected, there are many more, all the mature and sensible drivers, certainly NOT the people that these draconian, time wasting, health and safety gone mad rules where bought in to protect. Who is the complete and utter moron that though this was a good idea? Is there any legal precedence for any of these barking rules?

Its amazing what happens when you give a Trog a bit of power, he/she can cripple the whole feckin Army. I hope this opens up further debate on the whole crackpot regime that is vehicle familirisation!

Edited to remove annoying email notification on what is becoming a hot topic!
  2. What's the problem - simply re-write the FMT 600 with the appropriate authorised vehicles section completed (like it is supposed to be!).

If you do not know the details of your various familiarisations then you will have to do them all again.

I must admit this is the first time I have experienced this - but it is not the end of the world.