Your Best Cultural Cuisine Recipe

Discussion in 'Multinational HQ' started by ghost_us, Nov 14, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Before my current job in IT, I used to be a chef. I was classically trained french however, one of my instructors was actually a brit. He was missing a few fingers, had a rather solid temper, and absolutely hated whistling while you chopped. I was told he cooked for the Queen at some point in his career. Seeing as how he was an instructor at the school I never questioned the veracity of that.

That being said, I like to cook new things now and then and I'm always on the lookout for authentic recipes.

I've read about 50 million articles on "How to cook a proper yorkshire pudding" but have yet to try one. Most seem to favor having the pan very hot before pouring.

Anyway, what's your favorite recipe that you consider authentic and culturally represents you?

Also, as an aside. I find that scotland and nova scotia have a boatload of similarities between the stuff they will eat/cook/pick up . Head Cheese and Haggis come to mind.
  2. I don't know if this ''culturally represents'' me (I'm American), but my absolutely favorite meal is pot roast with egg noodles, stringbeans, hot buttered rolls and lots of gravy.

Dessert: Devil's food cake with vanilla icing.
  3. Faggots Peas & Gravy,piping hot. Cultural cuisine from the valleys.
  4. Meat pie,stewed eels,mash and liquor, washed down with a mug of strong tea and a few chunks of bread to mop up the liquor. London's finest.
  5. get yourself a right good haggis neeps and taties dish with a very nice glengoyne sauce, my local distiliry, tell ye do ir right and youll be amazed

rifle firing, rifle firing, rifle firing, rifle stops..............arse!

6. Ah, "cut ye up wi' ready sleight"

I always found this amusing:

7. Quote: Shaka said: