You saluted and you meant it

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by PartTimePongo, Jun 6, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. How many times, have you thrown one up, and thought, "I'm going to give you my smartest salute, because you are a Warrior defined"

Did a D-Day Parade today, guest of honour, was a Brigadier, a very nice old man, Perfectly amiable and with all his marbles at 84 , until you looked at his medal row, and saw the MC and Bar awarded in Normandy.

Was proud to speak to a guy like that, and hopefully the salute I gave him at the end of the conversation reflected that.

Sometimes, I guess you just feel like that.

Anyone else?
  2. When I joined up in 1962 as a boy soldier, my CO was a Lt Col Portious VC RA. It was always a competition between us boys to see who could throw the smartest and snappiest salute. A word from that man was like speaking to God!
  3. I was given a book by my brother, it had been doing the rounds in Bosnia and he managed to get me a copy of it.

The book was called 18 Platoon wriiten by Lt Sydney Jary. Lt Jary joined his platoon of the Somerset Light Infantry on D+3 and the book is an absolutly brillient dipiction of platoon tatics, ups . downs and life in a platoon during war.

The book is forwarded by i believe his platoon Sgt or Cpl, who really says what he thought of seeing this young officer tip of to take command.

during a short stint in the otc i attended a lecture given by Lt Jary and knowing his book had great amdiration for what he had done.

I thew up the best salute in my career. proud to have been in his presence and to have been on the recieving end of his advice.

I cant reconmend his book highly enough!

4. no cant say i have