YofS From Phase One Trg Instr

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by Biffta112, Apr 16, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Im currently an instructor at ATC(P) and have submitted PD 9, has anyone got any experience with this from an ATR post as i can only think that it will count against me. I have had the usual 'It wont affect you' from the Corps but still think that it can only go against me with being away from a comms orientated enviroment.

2. It should stand you in good stead. All too often, people go straight onto the YofS course with no mil quals or other experiences other than comms. The course isn't an attendance course, so you won't automatically pass, or indeed get on the course in the first instance. (The selection process, from what I have been informed, is being tightened, so it will be harder for people to get selected. Also I'm told that the size of the courses will be reduced also.) The fact that you have got off your arse and done something as an alternative option, should you not make it to YofS, will show good forethought and forward planning on your part. Brownie points at the end of the day

3. The main problem i can see is staying here for another year and missing the curve, i'm not sure the maximum length of service you can be considered for the course.

4. You can put in your appication upto your 18 year point. As long as you have at least 3 years to give the Corps after you finish the course. Thats gospel from an ex-Royal Signals Desk Officer, who asked me why I hadn't put in PD9.

5. Cheers, should still be ok with 11 years to give then!!

6. Papa Golf, you are a little (decades) away from the current PD's. The latest SOinC(A) PD No9 released in Feb 11 is that maximum year of service is 16yrs down from 17yrs.