yet another question about OPMI soldier stuff!

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by YesSirMasterChief, Jan 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    I'm just hoping to find out about any opinions that anyone might have with regards to my potential suitability for the OPMI soldier role, which I'm really interested in. I got my BSc quite a few years ago (2000), and then my MSc a couple of years ago in scientific/technical based subjects. I've worked for all of the other years since completing my BSc in scientific/technical environments, and for the last few years particularly in research and development in competitive commercial environments (I'm 29 now). As such I'm quite used to being in a fast paced role where I have to think about complex problems and adjust my methodology to come up with new ways to make progress.
    Sorry if this sounds a bit like I'm selling myself here but I'm wondering if the OPMI role would appeal to someone with my kind of need for challenge and stimulation. I'm really interested in technology in general and also military technology and usage and I think I could adapt to this kind of work if it was thrown at me. I really want to experience the army life as well and I'm thinking that this kind of role would mix both aspects of what I'm looking for. Or perhaps I've gathered preconceptions about it.