Yemen Suicide Bombing

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Colonel_Ranter, May 21, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. A suicide bomber has made a bit of a mess of a parade rehearsal in Sanaa.

BBC News - 'Al-Qaeda attack' on Yemen army parade causes carnage

I am not an explosives expert, so I am not sure how one guy carries enough explosive in a belt to kill 90 and injure 222. I thought that you needed a truck bomb to cause that sort of carnage. Is this a record for a pedestrian suicide bomber?

2. Suicide bombers tend to use plastic explosives which are many times more powerful the home made explosives often used in VBIEDs.

A suicide bomber could easily carry 20-30kg of explosive rigged about them. Press some shipyard confetti (nuts, bolts etc). And it becomes extremely effective at killing.

Iraq has seen suicide bombers kill over 100 at a time on a few occasions.

3. Thanks, Dingerr. I hadn't appreciated the power of the modern stuff. I suppose that the lack of cover on a parade square will not have helped the lads around him, either.

4. Not only that, any containment of explosives can amplify its effects.

5. Just seen the video on the news. Not pretty viewing.

6. How is he going to enjoy his virgins when he's just a pair of smoking boots on the parade square?

7. Goatman

Goatman LE Book Reviewer

Very nasty opening sequence in 'Swordfish' where some bank blagger detonates a bomb-vest on his female hostage gives the impression.....and I'm told it's usually the head that is all that remains, as the head tends to go vertically following everything else turning into pink mist. Dingerr may be able to tell you this is arrse-wipe.