WWII AA site question

Mrs Slocombe

Old-Salt
I was just messing about on Bing Maps, and found this. Please explain what these thingies are. Presumably the artillery was in the middle of the circular things, but what did what?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
It's the firing site for a troop (four guns) of 3.7in HAA guns, static mountings by the look of it. There should be another one about half a mile away for the other half of the battery.

If you wrote the thread title you already knew the answer?

tiv

LE
The structure in the centre is the Command Post, the open section containng the optical instrumens. The other four structures appear to be 1941 Pattern gun pits.

I was just messing about on Bing Maps, and found this. Please explain what these thingies are. Presumably the artillery was in the middle of the circular things, but what did what?
Thanks in advance.
I'm no expert, but I'm sure I've seen photos of similar sites in action where they had a rangefinder mounted on top of the "E" shaped building. Possibly some sort of acoustic device as well.

Edit: tiv beat me to it with a better explanation.

Wordsmith

LE
Book Reviewer
The structure in the centre is the Command Post, the open section containing the optical instruments. The other four structures appear to be 1941 Pattern gun pits.
Why are the gun pits relatively close to the command post? Would not the blast from the AA guns knock the optical rangefinder out of calibration?

Wordsmith

tiv

LE
Why are the gun pits relatively close to the command post? Would not the blast from the AA guns knock the optical rangefinder out of calibration?

Wordsmith
Apparently not in the case of the 3.7" and 4.5" guns. The guns were clustered around the Command Posts to allow the offset for each gun to be calculated so I understand

When the 5.25" was introduced, problems were encountered and in some instances new command posts were constructed away from the guns for that reason.