WW1 Medal mystery?

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by Highflight, Jun 26, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Can anyone help me?.

I have a small black and white photo of my grandfather in his Royal Flying Corps uniform, with a group of other RFC men (7 in total). There are 2 sergeants, 1 corporal and 4 privates, one of which is my grandfather. The photo is made as a postcard.

My question is; my grandfather is the only one wearing a medal ribbon on his left breast. The photo is poor, so nothing can be read from it as to identify what it is. All I can tell is that it is light coloured in the middle with dark edges.

Why is my grandfather and no-one else wearing a medal ribbon and what could it be? He ended the war as a corporal and was an 'air mechanic' by trade.

I have no idea when he joined, but I very much doubt he volunteered and he was probably called up (1916?).

I have tried the medal card records and RAF Records all with no luck.

Can anyone deduce why he has it??

Thanks.

2. seaweed

seaweed LE Book Reviewer

Sounds like a War Medal but why the others do not have theirs I can't think. The Medal Index is great but with five million cards in it I wouldn't be too surprised if the odd one went missing, or failed to get microfilmed or scanned.

3. oldbaldy

oldbaldy LE Moderator Good Egg (charities)
    1. Battlefield Tours

Medal cards can have transposition errors as well. Took me ages to find my grandfather because of that. So make sure when searching you take that into account.

4. The medal is probablly a 1914/15 star awarded to those who were serving at the time (The Old Contemptables) However if it is he volunteered before the conscription act of 1916. Many of those in the RFC were former Infantry who were invalided out of front line service.
    [​IMG]