Writer working on book proposal on changes in British Army over last decade

Discussion in 'Staff College and Staff Officers' started by Magazinewriter, Jul 1, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

My name is Simon Akam, and I am a British journalist. I spent the last few years working in West Africa for Reuters and the Economist.

I am posting on here because I am currently working on a proposal for a non-fiction book about changes in the British Army over the last decade. The aim is not so much to write about what the Army did in Iraq and Afghanistan, which has already been reasonably well reported, but rather to examine the impact of those conflicts on the institution that prosecuted them. That is a rather less familiar theme, at least outside the military.

I am currently canvassing a range of opinion both inside and outside the Army, and would be very interested to hear the thoughts of contributors here on areas that would be worth looking at. As a newcomer to this forum I am not au fait with its conventions, and if you feel my post would be better placed in a different sub-category please let me know.