Writer with no combat experience

Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by Agamemnon1979, Mar 31, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Alright fellas. I'm a writer working on a novel in which one of the characters was in Afghanistan for months until the got his foot crushed in a car accident in Spring this year. His actual time there makes up a small part of the action, but if I write it with only what I know about the subject as the basis it'll just sound like a load of cobblers.

Anyone think they can help me out with this? If I sell a million I could even cut you in as a 'consultant' :D

Cheers for reading

2. spike7451

spike7451 RIP

Welcome to ARRSE.
    You might be banging your head against a wall here. Most servicemen wont talk bout their 'time in combat' openly.My late Father was a RAF Pilot in WWII & he NEVER talked about his war experience.
    To most it's a private matter,The horrors they've saw,the mates they've lost.They'd rather keep it private & buried.
    PS,I've never been to The Stan so I'm afraid I cant help you.
    Oh,& Your in for some slaggin!

3. I did have an experience in my combats.

But just the once.

4. spike7451

spike7451 RIP

Ohh..Nasty.
    Was sluggy there?

5. I suddenly felt alone.

Hence the experience.

6. It isn't the experiences I had in my own combats that worried me, it was the experience I had in a sister officer's that really freaked me out. It is very difficult to get dressed rapidly when almost (almost MDN!!) every item of clothing is identical, albeit slightly smaller. They having been removed at speed in pursuit of the beast with two backs!

7. Biped

Biped LE Book Reviewer