Wounded Warrior Project.

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by extechstmn, Jan 23, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Has anyone ever heard of these, and if so, are they a legitimate UK charity?

The reason I ask is that they have a fundraising stall set up in Coventry City centre as we speak.

All it's staff are wearing British desert uniforms, including rank badges, which is what caught my eye.

I work as a civvy for the MOD, and I have never heard of them, so I Googled the name. All that showed up is an American charity which is neither VAT nor UK charity registered. Would I be correct in thinking that this is a scam which is defrauding Help for Heroes and the like?

I have contacted the police and they are investigating.
  2. Maybe it is legit as I saw them in Surrey Quays shopping centre outside Tesco in South East London. If they were in there they would of had to get permission.

They were there at 16:30 and had gone by the time I came out at 17:00.

Three people, two in combats, with a couple of those upside down roller blind type self supporting display stands with professional looking graphics on it including a medal sort of like a George Cross with Wounded Warrior Project across it (might not be quite an accurate description as I only glanced at it as I had the children with me).

Didn't stop as I was going to see them and find out about it when I came out. I couldn't find anything on the web about them except for the American site.
  3. Make contact with the charities commission http://www.charity-commission.gov.uk/ and find out if they're for real. I am sorry but the fact they look kosher and have uniforms doesn't make them a real forces charity. We all know that there are those that claim to be for charity but in fact they collect for themselves.