Worthwhile applying now?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by ryanp16, Jan 14, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm in my third year of a four year uni course (maths and physics). I would like to join the Royal Engineers as an officer. Would it be worthwhile starting my application now? Or is it too early? I had originally intended waiting until June to apply, but I'd like to get the ball rolling.
  2. Ryan

Get on with it now. A considered approach and final decision ( yours) will be far more effective than one that is rushed.
    get to the web site and start the ball rolling.

Old Rat
  3. Alright, will do! Thanks!
  4. Start now as above. Can take many months.

Good luck and enjoy it if you get there!
  5. cpunk

cpunk LE Moderator

Get on it now. If you pass you might well still end up with a bursary for your final year: much better than a kick in the nuts.
  6. Right I'm in the process of filling out the application form online and it's a bit worrying. A county council maintenance grants gets me through university, and tuition fees are payed for by the government. This is the case for the vast majority of students here. Because of this I've never needed a job. The only work I've had was one day of stock taking in a DIY shop a few years ago. Will no work experience be a problem for the application?

Also I'm not really involved with any "leadership" type things. However I am a part of my university Saint Vincent de Paul foundation and we volunteer with homeless people etc.

Are they likely to see these things and simply say "not officer material" or do I at least get a chance?