World War One poetry

Discussion in 'Poetry Corner' started by racheyblubird, Apr 29, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello there,

I'm hoping that one or two responces to my question may contain a 'gem' and help me through my mental block!

I'm a student, and at the moment am writting a discourse analysis on World War One poetry. I have pretty much completed it all, but am now at the stage where I have to say if the poetry of that time is, or isn't relevant to today.

I've had one theory put to me, that 'no it doesn't because the emotion back then was a lot softer. Today it's a lot more angry.' Avery definate answer which I was happy to go along with. However, I've had a decent nights sleep and thinking about it this morning I got to thinking about Sassoon. He seemed (to me at least), to be very angry, and especially disparaging and bitter(?) towards the government, the establishment and the general public!

As I am using one of Sassoons poems I don't feel I can really use the 'its not as angry as now' arguement.

Any views or opinions on if the poetry of 1914-1918 can be applied and or is relevant to the situations of the past twenty to twenty-five years would be much appreciated!

Cheers in advance!

Rachey

2. I think you would receive much more feedback if you go to this site

www.1914-1918.invisionzone.com

it is also known as The Great War Forum. There loads of knowledgable people on there and is a very good research site.

Good luck!

3. Cheers, you're a star!

4. If you don't have any luck on the suggested site, you can PM me. I spent a reasonable amount of time scribbling away at University on all manner of things, including similar subjects...

...terribly dedicated, I was! :wink:

5. Have PM'd you.