Working with WALTS.................

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by kangaroopoint, Sep 13, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all ex servicemen and women.....Im the usual story of doing a few years in the armed forces and then getting out into civvy street.I work in the private security industry (yes,i know we all said we would never do it while we were in),but we all have bills to pay and its reality..
    Im ex-army and my first job was given to me by an ex-royal marine to who showed me proffesional courtesy when i was just an ex soldier on the dss.Im still grateful.
    However the last few years i have come to realise that apart from the occasional calm sensible ex serviceman or woman who are proffesional and enjoyable to work with,i also seem to have met nothing else but hundreds of civvy fantasists,backstabbers,deadbeats,wannabe macho men and walter mittys of the highest order.
    People who think looking hard or having a two week 2 bob certificate in "bodyguarding" from some clueless firm makes them the dogs bollocks.Iv even met guys with nunchucks or who brought fake weapons to work?..very sad!
    In fact the industry seems to be seething with them!..and i wouldnt trust any of them as iv never met so many snakes.
    I know its not exactly the most glamourous job out there but iv tried airline,corporate,industrial and theft prevention ( and and i dont fancy doing any PMC work as its abit to risky and the companies dont have the back up that the forces did,) but do any ladies and gentlemen out there know of any civilian firms that tend to employ more of the ex-forces types and have a good reputation.
    Sorry for the cynicism but surely im not the only one who thinks this and it would be good to hear others humourous experiences on walts at the least for a laugh.