Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good Evening Gentlemen!

I am afraid that I have resorted to using my alias for this post for fear of jeopardising the reputation (if there is any) of my other ID (Walt accusations, stupid stupid boy, do some work yourself, e.t.c). I am also aware that I am posting this on an ARMY recruitment forum, but I know the posters here, and I trust the service and advice from what must be years of reading (not much posting).

Work experience is on the way for me, (I’m studying A levels at the moment) and i am at a loss as to what to attempt to do. I am going to attempt going for the Police force, but this is unlikely due to crappy health and safety stuff, fire service is the same. I am extremely reluctant to go for the usual monotonous shelf stacking of desk job. Anything with Blue flashing lights would be excellent but as this seems unlikely any other ideas?
    If the military do work experience that would unfortunately not be an option. (-parent issues with joining up)

Any help gratefully received as per usual.

2. If its blue flashing lights you like, become a car thief.
  3. We have blue lights in the Army as well, try military police or, if you are a bit more adventurous and want better chat up lines, go for RLC EOD (bomb disposal) or you could even be an ambulance driver.

All have blue lights and you get a free uniform
  4. Cool! do i get a baton aswell!? oop, almostht droped my tussue!

Daytona955- can you get Work experience at Alevel for those then?
  5. Yes you can get work experience although both the police and EOD are pretty boring to experience as you cannot really get involved. If you are near/in a garrison pop in direct to the local Education Centre for details of where to register or enquire at your local recruiting office.