Women capbadge herrick

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by fairygothmother, Apr 13, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. The other thread has prompted me to finally ask this question. I have recently finished phase 1 training and I am currently capbadged signals but I would like to get out on operations soon as in 2011 or 2012. Signals does not seem the right place to do this right now as people I have spoken to who have gone out on ops have either done it just as a driver or are terminally bored sitting in camp bastion. I work in IT and any trip out to Afghan as tech or op is just going to have me doing a more junior version of my day job in different clothes which I would like to avoid as I joined the TA to get a break from all that.

It would be nice to have a vaguely front line role and having watched the recent girls on the front line thing plus chatting to others on my course, artillery or medic seem the best options and being geeky, medic interests me more. I know nothing about the deployment process but if I did manage to find a local unit with a CMT slot would I likely end up out at FOBs or are CMTs mostly back at Bastion? Even that latter would be preferable to doing more IT! I am near a Royal Anglian unit but they're off to Cyprus soon rather than herrick but I presume any RHQ should have medic slots? There is also 254 medical regiment but I think they are mostly doctors and nurses.
  2. msr

msr LE

So why did you join the signals?

3. Everything changed last year after I joined. We used to be bigger with radio equipment and the possibility of doing medic or REME but now it is just IT and the CO wants a focus on the IT rather than military things.
  4. Well transfer then, sounds like your mind is allready made up. What are you waiting for?