Wise words

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Bad CO, Jul 17, 2004.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Bad CO

Bad CO LE Admin Reviews Editor Gallery Guru

2. Bad CO

Bad CO LE Admin Reviews Editor Gallery Guru

Oh and some drivel from some matloe.....

Sir - As a naval officer, I spent the past nine years of my service career working with and for the Army, including a stint on the Government's Strategic Defence Review of 1997-98.

In trying to man single-battalion regiments for operational tasks, I regularly found immense difficulty in putting together a cohesive force from the same cap badge (News, July 16). Invariably, regiments had to borrow whole companies from other regiments in order to be at operational strength.

It seemed to me that this flew directly in the face of the regimental argument that fighting morale could be maintained only if men fighting together belonged to the same regiment, recruited from the same background.

The Navy, by comparison, has long relied on "trickle drafting", whereby a ship's company is a constantly changing entity. It seems to do little damage to fighting morale and certainly is a far more effective and flexible use of manpower.

Discussion papers to my Army superiors fell on stony ground. The regimental system was sacrosanct and the unseen power brokers of retired senior officers who form the cadre of regimental colonels ensured that it remained so.

Meanwhile, I was left to sort out the idiosyncrasies of my part of the arms plot as best I could. To that extent I, personally, welcome the postulated changes.

Cdre Peter Melson, London EC3

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/opinion/Content/displayPopup.jhtml?xml=/opinion/2004/07/17/dt1701.xml&site=15