Will the Int Corps want me or am I wasting my time?

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by Moriarty, Jun 18, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I have a couple of questions, hopefully i'm not repeating previously asked questions. I'll give my background first. I have a degree and PhD in Pure Mathematics, i'm 24, and i'm just starting work as a defence related civil servant. Not that it probably matters, but i'm pretty fit as i'm an, albeit slow, marathon runner. I speak no longer languages other then English, and very bad French.

Here's the questions:

1. At the end of my degree I picked up a bit of a disability: a long term girlfriend. This scuppered my plans of joining the regs, where I had intended to apply to the Int Corps. So now I am looking at 3 MI. My first question is, am I right to assume the regs would be a no-no now if I want any chance of staying with my girlfriend? I realise there would be a significant amount of intitial time apart while I train, and that is fine, but after training woul there be any likelihood of us being able to still live together?

2. Assuming the answer to the above is no, would I be a desirable candidate for 3 MI? I am starting to get the impression from other posts that my lack of any language skills might not make me as desirable. I have strong analytical and problem solving skills, and i'd like to think my interpersonal skills are quite good.

3. I am particularly interested in HUMINT work. Will my lack of language skills make that impossible?

4. From the locations listed on the 3 MI website I am a fair distance away from any. Although I work not too far from London. Are there opportunites at any other locations than the ones listed? Or, if I decided to travel to a London company what midweek training commitment would be expected of me.

Thanks for answering these (long) questions :wink: