Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Will my plan to live abroad refuse my army application?

Tuzi

Crow
Hi all,

First off, apologies if this question has been asked previously, however if it has I can't find it and searched for hours now looking for an answer to my concern. So I've now come here to see if any of you can help.

The issue I have is this:
I am dead set on joining the army intelligence corps in the role of Operator Technical Intelligence. This is a role I've wanted to join for a couple of years now and I'm incredibly excited to do so. However, I'm currently studying at university (final year) and immediately after graduation, but before I apply to the army, I plan to work and study abroad for a total of 3 years. I already have a job offer to work in Beijing for a year, and intend to do a further 2yr MA in Beijing afterwards.
I was happy and excited as I had the next decade all planned out, however it suddenly dwelled on me that such a long period of time living outside the UK may impact whether or not I get accepted into the army, especially since its a non-commonwealth and non-western country I plan to live. I've checked on the army recruitment and government websites, and the only policy about living abroad regards non-UK citizens. To clarify, I am a British citizen and lived in the UK for all the 20 years of my life, and I satisfy the requirements shown on the recruitment website.

I know a security clearance is necessary and all I want to know is if my intentions to live abroad will impact my intentions to join the army? If so, how long would I have to live in the UK after Beijing to be accepted into the role. Months? Years?