Will a bad stammer, prevent me from becoming an officer?

josh95

Crow
Hi,
I am 22 I have a 1:1 degree. I recently quit my office job, due to hating it.

I have considered applying for an officer role, it is something I have wanted to do since a kid.
However I have a very bad stammer, but I do believe in time I can correct it; do you think this will block my chances of getting through the recruitment process?

Sixty

ADC
Book Reviewer
P-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y n-n-n-n-n-n-n-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-t-t-t-t-t-t-t-t.

P-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-p-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-r-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-b-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-l-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y-y n-n-n-n-n-n-n-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-t-t-t-t-t-t-t-t.
You are evil!

Caecilius

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Hi,
I am 22 I have a 1:1 degree. I recently quit my office job, due to hating it.

I have considered applying for an officer role, it is something I have wanted to do since a kid.
However I have a very bad stammer, but I do believe in time I can correct it; do you think this will block my chances of getting through the recruitment process?
I met an officer with a stammer recently so it's definitely not a complete impediment. It will obviously make things much harder for you in a job that involves routinely speaking in front of groups of people though.

As you have probably realised, you will get the piss taken both to your face and behind your back. If that's going to bother you forget it, otherwise why not, other people will have other problems.

Not much of a stutter.
At my peak I would never have got past the rrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...............

It wasn't necessarily a problem. As long as you can put up with what a fellow officer did, such as:
0, 3B, Long message . Over.
0, Send. Over.