Why the Guardian is good for you!

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Sir_Sidney_Ruff_Diamond, Jan 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. As well as top quality articles from our Minty an interesting letter in the paper today!

Having noted the appearance of the official British army fitness programme last week, I have to say that it's reassuring to see some acknowledgment from within my own organisation that the Guardian is seen as a respected heavyweight sparring partner.

As a serving army officer, I regard a daily read of the Guardian as essential.

It may be heavy going and at times it might verge on the unpalatable - but it challenges any idle intellectual preconceptions I may have, dislodging them and flushing them away, while keeping my brain in good working order.

In this respect I feel that the Guardian does for my intellect what a large bowl of bran flakes does for my bowels, and so I am reluctant to give up either.

Colonel Mark Hainge
    Salisbury, Wiltshire

2. makes you come out with shit?

3. Biped

Biped LE Book Reviewer

He'll be on the fast-track promotion list to the top of the politi . . . armed forces hierarchy if this gets out then.

4. Michael White, political editor, that staunch defender of Gordon Brown.

Hmmm, I dip into the Guardian for the quality of it's journalism but as for the line taken by it's editorial, forget it.

5. Are you certain Colonel Mark Hainge of Salisbury, Wiltshire, isn't some Trot with a sense of humour? Does the good Colonel appear on any list, that is, a list not compiled by MI5?

6. There's nothing wrong with the Guardian (apart from Polly Toynbee, the Weekend magazine, and the assumption that Labour is A Good Thing), but the readers have an incredible ability to fuck me off:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/readerseditor/story/0,,2240453,00.html

:x