Why no LSSA whilst on AT!! seems simple yet its all wrong!!!

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by Dezzzy, Dec 9, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Dear All,

Could you help satisfy my doubt that my pay staff are just plain wrong.
    In a nutshell, i am a qualified Alpine ski instructor who is taking about 30 blokes away in January with 4 other instructors to France. They will be ther for 9 days a group i will be there for 28 days in total.
    My Pay WO says that the regulations and advice from Bde is that as we are on AT i cannot claim LSSA though one of the other instructors who is a PTI can claim as the regulations say something along the lines of " instructing is there primary role eg PTI". i find this wrong as we are posted in England, and the PTI's primary role is not as a Ski instructor obviously!!!!
    I have spoke to Indi and they say the instructors should get LSSA. but my pay WO says they are wrong and that he is interpreting the rules correctly... is there a pay God out there that knows of some peice of the JSP/similar that is less ambiguos because i just cannot belive that i will be doing the same job as a PTI yet will not be entitled to LSSA. any help appreciated , even , a yeah for all those years and even now, every one else has been fraudulently claiming it and your pay blokes spot on. many thanks Dez

2. If you are asking for LSSA he may be correct... it is now LSA>

I was under the impression that if you are an instructor on AT you get LSA for the duration of the exercise. Regardless of you being a PTI or a pie eating instructor. If you aren't there in an instructional capacity the exercise can't happen. It may say eg PTI, but it includes Adv Trg Instructors.