Why does everyone hate army chefs?

Hello!

I was wondering if anyone could answer the eternal question why does everyone outside and in the army hate army chefs? Fair enough in the 6 years I served I burnt lots of things and ate the contents of peoples packed lunchs before sending them out so I guess this is why we are disliked. But that never stopped you from waking me from my pit at 3 am for more coffee for the guard room or egg banjos!

However I have since left the army (2002) and since then I obviously get asked what I did for my old jobs when I tell them I was a army chef I get laughed at and called a wanker or steven segal from under siege! im starting to think I would get more respect telling people I was Jimmy Savilles PA for 6 years.

has anyone else had this experience or is there a less popular trade?

The Army has Chefs? What a novel idea..........................It will never catch on though.

I suspect @jarrod248 will be along soon to help you with your question...

If you can't wait just PM @Joker62 who is also good with these tricky questions.

Hope that helps.

Legs

ADC
Book Reviewer
OI!!! ONE FUCKIN' SAUSAGE!!!

I've always had great respect for Army Chefs, but that has never stopped me taking the piss.

swaite78,
I think you will find that most squaddies appreciate the quality of the food produced by the miltary Chefs (apart from you), they just wouldn't tell you!
It's more likely to be a bit of banter from squaddies and a lack of understanding from civvies.

Get the brews on!

If it is of any help to the Op the crab and fishead cooks all get the piss taken on a very regular basis.

I've always had great respect for Army Chefs, but that has never stopped me taking the piss.
Has swaite78 been pissing in the Tea Bomb again?