Why do they (I) make it so complicated?

Discussion in 'Gaming and Software' started by mistersoft, Jan 4, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. [align=center]Why do they (I) make it so complicated? The ADSL Saga[/align]

Right, first things first, I’m no PC expert, nerd or geek but just somebody who believes in the power of search engines and (most of) the information to be found on th’internet. So basically all of this (and more) could be achieved by anybody with half a brain (a quarter more than me) and the patience of a saint.

The mission and I chose to accept it was to prepare French house number two for ADSL while still keeping a connection going in French house number one. House number one was a rental property and a modern build, so you can hear a rabbit farting from three miles away. The ADSL connection (such as it was) was crap due to the fact that as the crow flies, the exchange isn’t that far away but crows don’t build roads and so the distance the crackly copper wires had to travel was significantly further than our bird on the wing.