Who to join?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by T0mb3d, Oct 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello All,

I've been tinkering with the idea of joining the TA for a while now - the past 3 years to be exact - however work has kept me busy, so it's been on a back burner.

I am now however wanting to join ASAP. I wanted to join as a CMT, but to be honest i was put off by the lack of civvie street quals and from the looks of it they are more after paramedics/ambulance technicians anyway. I am now looking to join the sigs or int, as it fits my 'skills' the best. As long as i get to do a bit of running around like a headless chicken a couple of times a year i'm happy really. :D

I am 21 years old, relatively fit (the push ups, sit ups and miles won't be a problem) and i work in IT (5 years now) - i hold a handful of vendor certs and a NVQ for my sins. I'm pretty responsible too - i've got a mortgage, i half way through an 2 story extension (money pit), i hold a senior technical position at the company i work for and i take part in a 24/7 on-call rota.

So, who should i join? I live in Newcastle, so i've got 3 Mil Int near by and a couple of Royal Engineers (71 and 72 Regt).

What is the chances of mobilisation like? I've heard 1 tour every 3 years, although i'm not too sure how true that is. I wouldn't join if i didn't want to be called up, however work and the OH might not be best chuffed when i'm off every year for 6 months topping up my tan! Once every 3 years is more than enough for me.

Also, what are the turn around times for new recruits, how long before i'm trained and how long before i'm up as a candidate for mobilisation?