Who Are Your Heroes?

Sticking for a second with the primary ARRSE forum topics it has to be “bomb disposal.” I’m not sure what the current name for bomb disposal is (I’m guessing it’s not Felix), but regardless of era, from WWI to now, and whatever they’re called, they’re some right brave twats. Some are massively gobby twats, let’s be honest, but heroic twats to me in any case. As a soldier, I felt deeply grateful that they walked forward instead of me.

Other heroes of mine:

Carl Sagan - A scientist who never forgot his child-like wonderment of the Universe and was able to pass on his enormous and enthusiastic spirit of learning and enquiry to others. He inspired so many to take up science (me included), but probably his greatest achievement was to convince NASA to turn around a space-probe’s camera and take a tiny picture of where we live:

Dot.png

See that dot? That's it. All of history happened here. The lot. When you tried and failed to get your end away it happened here. All of the people you have ever met or known about live or lived here. All of the long dead kings and queens were born and died here, and all of the fighting over a bit of oil happned here.​

Spike Milligan - A complex and in many ways flawed man, but someone whose experience and hatred of war still rings true. The more I re-read his books the more I read between the lines and realise how much he’s drawn out the humour. It was a bloody awful time, for him, his family and his (especially military) friends. Regardless of his political views, and no matter how long he lived, he always put his head above the parapet and never forgot what it was like to be a soldier. Good on him.

As a boy - The Ultimate Warrior, Mr T and Gary Linker