Which regiment?

Discussion in 'Officers' started by Lab-rat, Jun 19, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Right, this is my problem which I hope some people here can help me sort out.

I am a 22yr old scientist, bored out of my mind in both lab and office, who is thinking about joining. What I want to know is where would I best fit in? at the risk of sounding like a complete ponce, it’s the hearts and minds stuff that’s selling me at the mo, but the last thing I want is to join and not get my hands dirty doing some proper job. looked at engineers, but went on a fam visit and they turned me down.

2. What specifically interests you?

What qualifications have you got?

I am biaised, but Gunners offer a massive variety and the chance to go on ops in role (Guns, Air Defence, UAV, Radar etc) or out of role (usually infantry). We have a massive spectrum in our officers mess ranging from 19 year old non-grads to a 32 year old Professor in mathematics who joined recently...

"Fitting in" is not necessarily easy to pin down to a specific Regiment or Corps or Battalion or Regiment within them just by what you do now.

3. You could join the Infantry - transferring elsewhere after a decent interval, by which time you'll have a better idea of who does what. You'll have a foot in the door.

4. If you dont want to get your hands dirty, perhaps you should look at the Adjutant Generals Corps, or the Royal Logistics Corps?

5. got a degree in anatomy as far as qualifications go, but the last thing I want to do is end up in an office again. Am interested in outdoors stuff, rock climbing, orienteering, parachuting, the usual stuff. Also current events and news, and a fair bit of history.

i may not have made myself too clear ducki, i want to get my hands dirty!

6. How about Cav officer?