• This is a stand-to for an incoming competition, one of our most expensive yet.
    Later this week we're going to be offering the opportunity to Win £270 Rab Neutrino Pro military down jacket
    Visit the thread at that link above and Watch it to be notified as soon as the competition goes live

Whether to join as an Officer or Soldier.

Join as an officer or a soldier?

• Officer

Votes: 7 43.8%
  • Soldier

Votes: 9 56.3%

• Total voters
Alright all, basically I'm rather uncertain and wondered if some of those who know a bit more than me might be able to shed some light.

I'm 19 years old, I've done my A Levels and I'm currently studying public services at college.
I'm not sure whether Id be best suited going as an officer, as it comes with rather obvious benefits, more money, respect, better career opportunities after, etc. However I know it's difficult to get in as an officer, I'm reasonably intelligent and have the necessary qualifications but I don't have a degree and wondered if this is something that would hold me back going for in as an officer? Also, as I said I'm 19,who am I to command a group of men who have been professional soldiers for several years? (although I suppose that's more of a personal moral question that one).
At the same time the idea of being a soldier and one of the lads seems appealing, and actually being the one on the front line actually doing something rather than being stuck working on the more logistical side of planning or what have ya. Also I imagine it is 'easier' and quicker to get into comparatively.

Basically, I think I'm leaning towards the benefits of an officer and the challenges that would bring, but I think I may prefer the lifestyle of a soldier?

I know I've not really made a question but any advice or suggestions would be really appreciated.

Some people want to join as a soldier because they want to experience that particular challenge but if I had my time again, I'd go in as an officer.