Where to go from here, plans to go to Sandhurst...

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Kimirl, Apr 5, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am thinking of applying to go to Sandhurst in January. I have an Engineering Degree and did four years or UOTC, finishing up in '06. I am living in Ireland and therefore there is no local careers office but I plan on being in the UK at the end of the month so will go to the office then. I wish to be totally prepared before then and I am wondering how the process works from initial visit to the Careers office to the Main board (if selected). I am currently working on my fitness and trying to get as much info as possible. I'm 25 this month and Irish female...will any of those factors affect my chances? Thanks for listening :)

2. Everyones process seems a tiny bit different, mine went;

a) Visit to the careers office for an interview with the Army Careers Advisor (Officer) (ACA(O))

b) He arranged two familiarisation visits one to Warminster for the infantry, one to the Royal Artillery also I had an interview with the Rifles, this was to get them to 'sponsor' me to the through the AOSB process. (Sponsorship is merely an Admin thing i.e. your sponsor becomes responsible for the paperwork)

c) I then attended the AOSB briefing at Westbury lasting 2 days

d) Depending on your result from the AOSB Briefing, you then attend the Main Board which lasts 3/4 days. If you pass you then book your place at RMAS.

Some people do most of their visits after the main board and are sponsored through AOSB by their careers advisor.

Hope this helps a bit,
    Good luck

RustyH

3. I don't think being Irish makes a difference - unusual, but not unheard of (to join British Army, not just the fact that you are Irish!).

As for female - again, no show stoppers there. We do allow them in!