when do reserve officers get attested?

I am part way though a application to join the Army reserve as an officer, I have my medical done and I'm just waiting on a day for the briefing. In the mean time I have been doing phase 0 training with local reserve units. They are very keen to help me pass both the briefing and the main board, but most are ex regular and new to the reserve in general and unsure how to help.

One of the big problems I have is no one can tell me when I get attested in the Reserve officer application processes. I was under the impression this was after the main board, but was told this was not the case and I was recommended a number of programs and weekends away I can join them on to help me pass the main board but I can only do these once I am attested.

At the moment it getting very frustrating because it looks like they can do lots to help me pass the main board, after I have passed the main board :) .

Can anyone give me a final answer on when a reserve officer gets attested?

I would have thought that you should be attested at the same stage as every other recruit, to allow you I train and to avoid the problem you describe. Have a word with the officer i/c your unit's recruiting team.

Tapped in morse code on the radiator.

Every other recruits (none Officer entry) gets attested after the assessment centre, unfortunately officer recruits don't go to the assessment centre so I wont be attested at the same time as them. I have been told my application processes is, interview, medical, Briefing Board, Main Board.

I am the only Officer applicant in my unit and the only other Officer applicant they have ever had was an OTC transfer so was already attested.

Last edited:
This doesn't feel right.
My understanding is that you will NOT join as an Officer, but as a normal recruit who, once they'd done their basic Recruit training will be expected to undergo further training in order to Commission.