Whats the situation like for our forces these days?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by brummyben, Jun 4, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. A few questions for members serving in the forces who have been to Iraq and Afghanistan

Hi ARRSE members, my name is ben and im a student of Journalism and Politics who writes for a student rag.

I would like to get some genuine views from the frontline to let our nations young people know what the real situation is, and not just spout off some third hand stuff ive copied from the professional media or the opinions of armchair 'experts.'

Having spoken to Bad CO about my request, let me make it quite clear that I am in no way asking people to reveal sensative information that could jepordise the security of troops in theatre or their missions.

With that provisio, I would like to hear from service members their views on the following questions.

1. Are our forces properly equipped for the job, what additional or different weapons, vehicles and equipment would make it easier for them?

2. Are the missions in Afghanistan and Iraq worthwhile, and are they still achievable as far as the servicemen and women who have served in them concerened?

3. How do members of the forces feel about the way the government looks after them? Cuts in Infantry battalions while increasing troop commitments seems crazy.

Is it right to spend huge chunks of MOD budget on 'new toys' like Eurofighter, Trident replacement etc which dont really help with current requirements while cutting Infantry who are needed for all the war fighting and peace keeping missions we are currently engaged in?

What about the lack of adequate military medical services? Does the UK neglect current and former service members who have been physically and psychologically damaged in the service of the country?