Whats the most mongish thing you have done in DIY?

Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by BlotBangRub, Aug 7, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Perhaps other ARRSERS share my inability to complete DIY tasks correctly?

Confession time, what is the most mongish thing you have done trying to improve your house/car etc?

I am sure I have probably done worse, but I recently built a load of flat-pack stuff.

1. I built my new swivel chair and managed to leave all the washers off and then when I realised this, I couldn't be arsed to redo it. (This is fairly embarrassing, as I used to be a supervising aircraft technician) One arm is already falling off. Good luck those in Lynx and Gazelles.

2. I built my beautiful oak veneer bedroom furniture, no problems apart from when I was ‘gently’ hammering in the wooden dowel things and I accidentally hit too hard and not only ensured the dowel was sufficiently secure in its pre-drilled hole, but managed to knock it right through the entire piece, and had it sticking out through the now effing ruined veneer. Twice.

3. I opened my new dining chair boxes with a knife (even though it specifically instructed me in big letters not to) and managed to slash two of the seat covers.

Any other DIY mongs out there?

Be honest and share your failures.

As with all my threads, posted in full anticipation if it ending up in the ‘hole’. :cry:
  2. I'm generally quite competent at this sort of thing but recently...

Thought a chrome towel rail would make a stylish rail for the shower curtain. Went to some trouble fitting it.
    Then realised that the shower curtain wasn't long enough to reach the bath from that high up!
    Two weeks of hunting for longer shower curtains later, Mrs Ex STAB came home with an ordinary shower rail kit. I took the hint and fitted it right away!
  3. Cow

Cow LE