whats a walt?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by robbo9, Feb 27, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. im new to the army, and the term ' walt' is used very often. but what does it mean? sorry for being niave

2. Everything you ever wanted to know about walts is HERE.

3. heres one:

[​IMG]

4. Someone who claims or acts Like he is more military experinced than he really is (if he served if at all ) .The idiot in the pub who claims to have fought in the falklands and dosent know what year it took place .The guy who served in bosnia as a driver and claims he parachuted into a minefield with the para engineers in kosovo .Serving soldiers who wear commando badges or wings they haven't earned .Worse is people who wear medals they havent earned .Are all known as walts .From Walter mitty a short story about a
    harmless chap who in his imagination saw himself as a hero .
    Mostly harmless and amusing in genral .Though can be dangerous if allowed in postion of responsbility on basis of his stories.Some use tales of derring do as means to gain advantages and can lead to fraud and other criminal acts .When exposed may slink away or self destruct violently .

Reinactors paint ballers and air softers can also be labelled with this though normally more amusing and genrally harmless anyone who posts apictureof himself posing with weapons looking hard on the net is open to abuse .

5. What do you mean?

TTFN

BFG