what to do

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by lois-claire, Sep 29, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. what should i do??????

ive always wanted to join the army, and in the last couple of years decided that CAMUS would be a good option for me (i know people, have your jokes at this point!!!)

however my parents arent too happy about me wanting to join

im 16 at the moment and im in my second year of college(i took my GCSE's a year early) but i dont think i can hack another year of college because im not enjoying my subjects, and 7 hours in classroom learning about french and spanish grammar just isnt really my scene

so, here comes the crunch....what should i do, make my parents unhappy, quit college and join, finish the year, make my parents unhappy, or be miserable for the rest of my life and work in an office but keep my parents happy???

ok, so the last option just isnt realistic, but out of the other two which sounds best, i think i really just need another opinion to help me make up my mind for sure

thanks

2. You sure your not using joining up as an excuse to leave college?

3. You're the only person that can decide I'm afraid. Weigh up the pros and cons of both, then approach your parents and discuss it with them. They may come round to your way of thinking if you've done all your research, and put forward a good case for doing what you really want to do.

4. There isn't an old ex soldier on here who wouldn't tell you to finish your studies first. Not many of us regret our service but most of us regret joining too early and not getting a decent education, something that isn't easy to rectify later on in life. And learning boring foreign languages now will give you far better options in the military.