what next?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by gaz764, Feb 14, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've just sat my BARB but because I only have a d grade at GCSE maths my first choice, RMP, isn't on the job list and my recruiter is trying to push me towards intelligence.

I was only a few marks of a C at GCSE but due to being a moody teenager and having a very bad maths teacher I didn't do anything about it.

I have A levels, a degree and at the moment I'm a college lecturer, all of which should have required GCSE maths but I've done equivalency tests to prove I am capable.

Should I stick to my guns and try for RMP?

2. Why not, or you could always study at home for a maths GCSE and do the exam in (June?) it's quite pricey but looks good if you've overcome a "problem" in order to join a specific trade

3. Hang on, you have A levels and a Degree but you're being denied RMP because you failed to attain a C in GCSE maths?

I take it you're trying to get in to RMAS?

Your recruiter is having a lend; I would stick to my guns and push for my first choice if I was you.

4. Your recruiter just needs to apply to the RMP SPSO in the first instance to see if they will 'shade' your application based on the fact you have other qualifications.

However the decision to allow you to proceed with RMP selection will be down to the SPSO, the recruiter only has to ask and fight your case.

The only MAQ requirement for Int Corps is a C in English.

Sounds to me like its a case of the recruiter just wanting to sell you what is visibly available based on what you are definitely qualified for, its your application though and you should push for what you want ;)

5. No I considered officer entry and was told by a Brigadier that he would be happy to shade the grade. I since decided to go in as a soldier for various reasons.