What is the TA summer challenge?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by luvly_jubbly, May 21, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there,

Firstly, can I say sorry if this is in the wrong section if it is feel free to move into the relevant area.

Secondly, I'm currently a student who has 7 weeks free in summer and wants to do the TA summer challenge but wants to know more about it first?

Can anyone who knows or has done anything with the summer challenge let me know:

- When the summer challenge is
    - What it involves
    - Where its located (I'm from Dunfermline if it depends on location)
    - If it helps me get fit enough for a fitness test for the navy or army.

2. TA Ph1 (i.e. CMSR or 'basic' training that everyone in the Army receives) and for Infantry, not sure about other capbadges, Ph2 (i.e. CIC or special-to-arm) training. Fitness, fieldcraft, skill at arms, navigation, first aid, exercises, and everything else required to turn you into a Territorial soldier and Infanteer. Throw in a bit of Adventure Training and possibly Driver training (at least this was the experience of some I know, your mileage may vary) and that gives you your 7 weeks.

As for where and when, not sure. You are best off contacting the unit you hope to join and speaking with them about when and where and how to get yourself on it. Or if not sure of which unit, perhaps approach a recruiting office/regular recruiters.

As for fitness it is intended to get you fit enough to pass Army fitness tests as this is what's required of you in the new job you are training for. You will increase your chances of passing the course if you rock up already fit so you can hit the ground running so to speak.