What is the role of a Royal Military Police (RMP) Officer

I am joining the Army Reserves in the RMP as a soldier whilst in education, but I am seriously considering going full time when I leave education. I am thinking of going for RMP Officer, but was wondering if they still have a hands on Policing role like those in the ranks would. For example, will I find myself regularly going out on the beat in the garrison, and garrison town? Or will I never find myself on the beat? Or will I still find myself out and about but not as regularly like those in the ranks?

I only ask because the main reason of joining the RMP is to integrate my interests in Policing, and Military into one. Their is also the great feeling of serving your country, and protecting soldiers, and civilians living in family accomodation. So basically, in the RMP I am hoping to get the best of both worlds. So, it is critical that as an Officer I will still be doing hands on Police work, even if it is less regular than what it would be if I joined as a soldier.

Thanks.

Last edited:
As an RMP officer you will not be going out on patrol nor carrying out investigations.

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)

As an RMP officer you will not be going out on patrol nor carrying out investigations.

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)
You can, if you so wish. Not as often as the men and women you command, but you can. You will be managing investigations in concert with several of the SNCO in the company, and will most likely do an attachment to the SIB for 6 months as an investigator.

Be under no illusion though, it isn't too often that you'll be getting your hands dirty.

You'll sit in your room and wonder why you're being treated like a leper by real soldiers.

Top tip. If you want to be a policeman, join the civilian police. The RMP are to policing what the RAF Regiment is to soldiering.