What is needed for success in Afghanistan?

I see alot of debate about NATO getting bogged down in Afghanistan, not reaching its objectives, or when is does quickly giving them back.

What is really needed to achive a successful resolution to this resolution?

BFG9000......

Sorry but can't help making inane comments today

Saying that a lot more firepower is certainly one of my answers...

Withdrawal...

msr

msr said:
Withdrawal...

msr
As far as I can make out, historically no one has ever won a war in Afghanistan, so pulling out might be the best option.

Shit loads of new kit for the lads wouldnt go amiss!

I'm no expert, but when I was in Afghanistan in 2004/2005, everything was relatively quiet. The Taliban had been removed from all the major cities, and were hated by the public, who's opinion was overwhelmingly in our favour. Hearts and minds had been won. Companies were investing in the cities, and the economy was doing well. The Taliban had been forced up into the hills, and we were training the Afghan Army.

It seems to me that the situation could have been sustained as it was - Holding every major city, with public opinion on our side, and developing a strong army over a few years.

So what happened?

Biped

LE
Book Reviewer
Not giving ground back because of a shortage of equipment and troops would be a start. Held ground receiving sufficient commercial and gobment investment for infrastructure rather than using a limited MOD budget to do little things with REME would be another. Thorough infiltration/hearts and minds of the local leaders to KEEP them onside. Overwhelming force-of-arms assaults with follow-on when attacked by the enemy - ie: follow them, surround them, destroy them, rather than sitting back when they sneek off.

Just my thoughts of course, and I;m not an expert by any means.

Mr Happy

LE
I think the ideas are correct Biped but are (a) difficult when going up against insurgent civvies look-a-likes and (b) of course troop numbers.