What is it really like being a GP in the Army?

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by clairetrayers, Dec 13, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'm a medical student and thinking about joining the Army as a GP when I qualify, tho I have a few questions about what it is like and I'm hoping someone can give me some advice please.

I've had all the recruitment gubbins through to read which tells you how wonderful the Army life is etc and spoken to the people at RAMC recruiting, however what I'd really like to know is more about the real day to day life of an Army GP.

Also, is it possible to give a rough estimate how much you are away from home - being posted somewhere isn't so much of an issue if the family could come with, it's more the places they can't go that I am wondering about. I'd also be interested to hear from any women who have civvy other halves & how they find it.

Thanks
    Claire

2. Hello Claire

I've PM'd you

DMTW (MRCGP FRCPsych)

3. Join the Navy instead :twisted:

4. same as in civi street - but the customers wear green as opposed to shell suits

5. Just a bit of advice; when you are in, you will be saluted and addressed as "Sir". Don't let this go to your head. If you end up in a field unit, just remember that the lads can make things just as awkward for you, as you can for them. We had a MO at our unit who was great with us, we would have done anything for him. He made the odd mistake on exercise, but no-one said anything. But, the MO before him was full of himself. No-one would help him with anything (unless ordered). On the whole though, you'll have a nice cushy life.

6. You call chicks 'Sir'? is that why you're an Ex medic?

7. Ex Medic