What I like about the Army/RLC.

Discussion in 'RLC' started by jonny_bored_bollox, Sep 28, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Dont worry this aint going to be a whining session!!!!!!
    I do have some good to say about the Army.

The Army pays me to go away adventure training.
    I love adventure training and I love going away on adventure trg(AT) courses. The best about it is I get paid shit loads (well plenty) to go away and do the courses. I have done a couple of civvy courses which I enjoyed immensley but the only drawback was the cost, and the fact that it was run over a weekend.

My only regret is that I didnt get to go away on AT courses when I was a younger soldier I would have been a lot higher qualified than I am now.

I must have one whinge and that is that the Sqns and Regts dont promote AT courses enough for the younger guys, these courses shouldnt be looked upon as "swan" courses they are a valuable tool for building up moral courage and inner strenght after all it takes a lot of bollox to throw yourself of twenty foot waterfalls in a kayak or to climb exposed rock faces hundreds of feet up.

Moral of the story...... All you young soldiers out there keep badgering you troop staff to let you get away on an AT cse you will enjoy it. (Dont worry about the playstation it will be there when you get back.
  2. Prime example of can't please all the people all the time...........

I cannot abide 'Adventurous training'!
  3. But, put your lunch up a mast and off you go?

'Adventurous training and no travel.
  4. Fatblerk is the reason you dislike AT cause you resemble your Avatar?
  5. No, the reasons I dislike ATrg are:

It's rarely adventurous
    It's invariably when I'm not on duty (thereby stealing a precious weekend)
    It's usually at extra cost to me
    I find most of the instructors slightly bizarre.