What have I missed out on?

Discussion in 'The NAAFI Bar' started by PetrovthePrat, Oct 29, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I just posted in an other forum and it got me thinking. Maybe the NAAFI isn't the wisest place to post this, but here goes. I'm 28, married and working in an office, providing telecommunication support to the emergency services. I've a management role, it's pretty well paid given my educational level. Before that I was an EMT (Ambulance crew) for 5 years. I enjoyed it, it was more a lifestyle then just a job. From chatting with ex serving, both Irish and British I think there's a lot similarities between the two jobs, same humour and banter. We even had our own version of ALLY! All in all, I've had a fun and fufilling life and I'm happy with were I am now.
    But when I was 19 I was all set to join up. A civilan job I really wanted came up and I decided against it. Now while I sit here with my liberally poured Jameson, I'm wondering what did I miss out on? Now, I don't mean that as "what could the forces ever have done for me,sneery sneery upturned nose", more "what rewarding and weird stuff could I have enjoyed".

2. what do you want posted? haven't you already thought about what could have been better, more exciting and thought about what you've actually contributed.

Be happy that you that you've made a difference, the rose tinted glasses that hint at hindsight don't always work. You chose not to join up, thats not a failing its a life choice.

3. "what do you want posted? haven't you already thought about what could have been better, more exciting and thought about what you've actually contributed.

Be happy that you that you've made a difference, the rose tinted glasses that hint at hindsight don't always work. You chose not to join up, thats not a failing its a life choice. "