What happens to the pay?

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by al_zaine, Sep 5, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I was just wondering after hearing a few thing what happens to the payments of soldiers who have served in the army.
    I have very little knowledge on the matter and the last thing I want to do is insult anyone, that's not why I'm here. I am actually considering joining the army which is why I'm curious about a few things. I have heard it said that there's a lot of soldiers homeless and recently I saw a video of a soldier who served 9 years and is claiming benefits because he was unable to settle in to a job after leaving. Whats up with that. Do they blow their wages or something. I'm just really confused by this.
  2. not really sure if you are a bit dim or something. "what happens to the payments of soldiers who have served in the army." are you asking "what do soldiers spend their wages on"?
  3. Some soldiers spend years in the Army, piss their wages up the wall every weekend, don't get a trade or do something which can transfer into civvy street, leave the Army without a penny to their name and can't get a job, become alcoholics and end up on the streets!

Are you stupid enough to do this?