What else can I use other than 'British Army' on my CV?

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by Honeymonster222, May 13, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am convinced that stating British Army on my CV has sabotaged my chances of landing any interviews lately. What else can I use as opposed to saying 'British Army'?

If MOD is chosen, what title should I use for my phase 1 training in Army Training Regiment Bassingbourn?

I was a REME VM. So should I say I was a field service engineer? It seems like I was when I read job descriptions in ads.

As an ex REME vm of 5 years, I had to use cranes and I am trained in using gantry and mobile crane, but no equivalent civvie qualifications, what can I say about that? The training was delivered in house? This is just some of the qualifications and experience I am a bit confused of to turn it into a civvie version.

2. I have difficulty believing that mentioning the British Army would have been detrimental to your chances of landing an interview. In case you hadn't noticed the regard with which the Armed Forces (and in particular the Army) are currently held has never been higher.

Out of interest - what led you to the conclusion you have drawn?
  3. You're better off substituting it for "H M Forces (Army)" it sounds more professional for a start.

Have you put each posting on your CV??!!

I have my whole Army career as one entry:

Customer facing role through equipment support, to both internal, and external units, as required.
    Responsible for the inspection, and subsequent repair of all XYZ within various units worldwide. Multi-cultural environment skills through operational tours in ABC.

Then add any relevant specific skills that are pertinent to the position that you're applying for. Mine is quite brief as my weapons skills aren't very useful in my new career.