What are the chances of getting compulsory mobolized?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by weez_heez, Oct 18, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok, I havn't even had a interview with my local TA yet but I am kinda worried about the idea of mobolisation. I'm a 18 year old student and at University. Of course, I'm not intent on never being mobolized as there would be no point in joining the TA in the first place if that was the case, but what are the chances of me getting mobolized in my first 1-4 years in the TA?

Are mobilisations now completely voluntary or are some still compulsory? I'm kinda worried as I would really prefer to get my degree at Uni (takes 4-5 years) before ever having to go to war of any kind.

2. Wait until you finish Uni then, it's not rocket science.

DO NOT waste the taxpayers (or the unit unlucky enough to take you on) time and money joining up if you are trying to look for a war dodge before you even put the uniform on.

3. expect to be mobilised from the outset mate. or put on a different uniform

i had some lads with me on Telic 2 who had only done CIC a few months before receiving their papers

4. As a rule you wont be subject to compulsory mobilisation until you’ve finished your degree.

Join up and don’t worry about it, the government wont interfere with your education.

5. me to, and for the record they have both left now

6. Don't wait!!!!! Join now.....

Most of the time you won't be mobilised if in full time eductation still...

Also the chances of being called up depends greatly on cap badge... i.e. inf. would stand a better chance than Sigs NC Rad Op.....

Do it, it's great!!!!

BB

7. Firstly as mentioned you can't be mobilised whilst at university