What are my chances of being accepted in to infantry, 21 with no work experience?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by Roderick, Sep 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi folks, sorry this has likely been posted before but kind of hard to find info out of 4000 threads :)

I'm male, 21 years old in December.

I have no work experience or qualifications, only a gcse grade C in Maths and a level 1 brickwork certificate.

I have a clean record. But have never worked and have been on jobseekers on and off since 18.
    I have no medical problems i'm aware of.

Also i am not a social able person however i do my best to get along with people, i'm not in to sports other than strength training and will have a go at a few activities like boxing though you wouldn't see it in me. I'm not in to football or the latest music/tv shows etc so my peers tend not to like me because i'm boring, i know i won't be the only one like this but i'm guessing only 5% of army lads aren't in to the latest stuff so i'm guessing if i did even get an interview i'd struggle to make a good enough impression to make them think i won't end up a loner or getting bullied.

However i am average height and weight and judging by the fitness tests listed on the official army website i should pass them smoothly since i can do a bit more than the requirements.
    I'm 5'9" and 150lbs. Don't look masculine in the face have a weak chin.

Also if you could please tell me how long the process takes to be at the barracks training and getting paid, i've applied for an info pack today and will send in application after i get it in 7-10 days.

Sorry for long writing.

Thanks for any help.