Web sites

Discussion in 'ACF' started by oldist-recruit, Jan 9, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just starting this post wanting hopefully the official ACF stance. I am in the process of writing a web page for my Cadet Detachment where I am an adult Instructor. I have had to stop mid flow after being told by the Coy commander that we are not allowed to put pictures of Cadets on a web site, and that the consent given on the Cadet enrolment forms doesn’t cover web sites.

Can anybody give me the official line on this, as there is a lot of Detachment web sites around, and also the main ACF web site has pictures of Cadets displayed. If it makes any difference I am based in Scotland

2. The disclaimer for photos is for the purpose of getting the parents consent for the cadets to have their photos taken for publicity etc.
    I think the OC is being an old fossil :D
    Why else would cadets have their photos taken? (Lets not go there chaps :D )
    As long as you have the parents consent in putting their little darlings on the weeb it should not officially be a problem.
    Sorry I do not have the official line on this.

3. Just wandered past and noticed this topic.

http://www.norfolkacf.com/

This lot don't seem to be bothered, and I'm sure there's plenty of other one's out there.

Edited to say: oh and it's quite a pants website!

4. That was my thinking to, as it says for publicity purpose. Our HQ web site has also halted because of this reason and most of the photos have been removed from it.

5. Paranoid the lot of em :D
    If the official ACF site can do it, then why not others
    You will probably find that some parent has seen their lad/girl on the website and 'forgot'/ did not read the bit she was signing and kicked up a fuss in your area.