Wearing of Trade Badges on CS95

Discussion in 'Military Clothing & Boots' started by wellyhead, Jan 23, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. OK, before anyone calls be a boy scout or says speak to you whoever I was just wondering the rules on CS95 and the old trade badges. The reason for this question is I gave some advice to a lad and now I think I might be a little out of date.

In my day (KF/GS shirts, denims, jumpers for goalposts etc) some trade badges could be worn on shirts and JHW, however with the advent of C95 some badge I haven't seen. I'm a sigs instructor and used to wear my flags above my stripes, but can you still do that considering stripes are now on your chest ? I have seen REME types with rank slides with their hammer and tongs on but not anyother badge ? If badges like flags and PTI swords can be worn on CS95 then do they go in their usual places and do we use the "no2" badges ? I ask as some shops seem to stock subdubed and even desert versions of the badges. What about the TRF ? if you have a badge that traditionally sits on the right arm above your rank, where would/could it go nowadays ?

editied to say that I know about Para wings and cdo daggers cheers

2. That's a good thing IMO, multicoloured badges have no place on a green uniform, or a desert one either! At least if they blend in it looks like an effort has been made....

As for TRF, what a waste of time.

3. I have seen C95 rank slides with both Crossed Swords and Crossed Rifles embroidered onto them (same as the Rank Chevrons).
    The PTI ones are available from the Army School of PT.

4. My RSI has crossed flags on his rank slide.

See below for a shop that sells trade badges on ranks slides:

http://www.army-surplus.co.uk/Merchant2/4.13/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=1&Category_Code=AARMY