wearing miniature medals on number two dress

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by solar_powered, Oct 21, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. i'm new to arrse so be gentle with me.
    could anyone tell me if there is any written rule about wearing miniature medals on number two dress
    reason being after my nan passed away i was given my grandads miniatures and i would really like to wear them this rememberance parade. i've been told i can only wear my grandads full size medals but the problem there is that they are in the yorkshire in a regimental museum (green howards)

2. You should be able to get full sized replicas made. As you will be aware, you will have to wear them on the opposite side to your own medals. Minitures on 2's is a no no I think.

(BTW, unless your nan flogged his gongs to the museum-doubtful, your family will still actually own them)

(Ask MDN for a good place for replicas. He got all of his made for his re enactment society)
    [​IMG]

3. Bigbury mint 01548 830717

Where I got mine....

4. You have to wear full size on your right side. But you may have to remount them as they have to be in reverse order. ie most senior medal on the right as you look at them.

5. They DO NOT have to be remounted, you can wear them as they were worn, but as correctly pointed out on the right hand side of the chest.

You may wish to check if you are entitled to wear them. The convention is for the NOK to wear them - in this case your nan is entitled to wear them. I'm sure no one is giong to be too **** about it, but there may be some chippy anorak there on the day who may pass comment - be prepared with a witty put down and you should be okay. The miniatures are definitely a no-no.

6. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer